Bluehost Reviews & Ratings

Bluehost Reviews and Ratings Logo
  • 8/10 Features
  • 8/10 Speed
  • 8/10 Support
  • 8/10 Overall
Bluehost is recommended by 162 out of 205 customers. Visit Website

There are currently 205 user reviews of Bluehost

Displaying reviews 1 to 30

  • Gwen

    "Used To Be Good, Now They Are Worthless"

    Bluehost review by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    They used to have reliable hosting and good tech staff, but ever since EIG bought them, my site is frequently down (for hours!) tech support never answers the chat or phone, and nothing works the way it should. I am a developer who has been using web hosts for over a decade and have never had as many problems as I do with Bluehost. Currently in the process of finding a non-EIG hosting company to move all of websites to. I'd give 0 stars if I could.

    Also, don't believe good reviews on any site - they are affiliates who get a kickback when you use their link to sign up.

    Pros: None
    Cons: No support, lots of downtime, slow servers, try to sell you junk

  • AJ

    "Bluehost Nothing Works, Email Errors, Back Office Errors And Downtime, Bluehost Tech Support Doesn't Answer Phone Or Have Solutions"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    Bluehost sold me a an infected IP address. They made me contact each email company, e.g. Microsoft Hotmail, AT&T, etc. 1 by 1 because the IP address they put my site on was previously a banned IP address, at best due to a Spam operator. When I call the so called VPS dedicated help line, I have to wait for hours and 9 out of 10 times, Bluehost never knows what the solution is. . Their servers are so incredibly slow, I am now ready to transfer my site to another host, no matter how seemingly complicated it may be. Although I only send and receive about 10 short text emails per week, their email servers are often down, extremely slow to load, and always giving error messages. Bluehost's recommended solution is to use another email service. Bluehost is a company which does not want to provide good website speed or performance. After nearly 2 years of back and forth accusations between Bluehost, the software companies and coders, I am now forced to find another hosting company. Bluehost doesn't answer their phone and no website can survive or succeed with Bluehost.

  • Bluehost Rep

    "I Worked At Bluehost"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    I worked at Bluehost for about 4 years. When I first came to the company it was literally the greatest company/job I had ever seen. The goals were realistic, they took care of their employees with parties, awards, challenges and the moral of the floor was sky high. EIG ended up buying out Bluehost and that's when the whole company went shady. They started increasing prices(claiming you were getting better software) started tricking customers into thinking they "NEEDED" a dedicated IP. Our whole training was to make a customer feel stupid and make them feel like they had to have what we were trying to sell(Called "The Challenger" sales book if you want more info). They made support, billing, cancellations and sales all upsell on every call. We were given unrealistic goals to hit and to trick customers into buying features they didn't need. We came out with "Sitelock Fix" which is supposed to clean viruses. After this product came out we would get 100's of calls a day about sites being infected(Funny how when we come out with this program suddenly all these accounts get infected and the customer has to pay $300 to get it fixed). Hari(the CEO) only cares about his stocks and is failing miserably so he randomly fired over 100 employees that had hit their numbers to save his ass. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. Shady as it gets.Your prices will double and your service will become less and less effective. From your Bluehost Rep:)

  • Olivia

    "Worst Customer Service"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: fgchall.com

    Review:
    We have simple website and occasionally need help. When I call, the wait time is 12 minutes+ and then
    I get disconnected. No excuse -- hire more techs!!
    Also, the advice I get is not consistent!
    Wish I had used iPage like I did for my other website. Much better service there!!

    Cons: Customer Service sucks

  • Gerald Garvey

    "Easy, Efficient, Excellent"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    Setting up a site with Bluehost is a very easy process and with the site building tools they'll give you making changes to it is just as simple, would recommend.
    https://www.bluehost.com/track/rpinder/LowCostHosting

  • Jamie

    "Possibly The Worst Company I Have Ever Dealt With"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    I have been with bluehost for about 3 years and truth be told never really been satisfied with there service, but foolishly continued to give them my money. Today, however was the last straw.

    I had a website launch planned for midnight last night, and I noticed the site was going quite slowly. I went on Live Chat to talk about some options, including VPS and Cloud Performance Hosting. The salesperson (I believe named Daniel G), said that the performance on Cloud would be better, less managed for us, and that migration would take 1-2 hours. I confirmed with Daniel multiple times about it taking that time. I underlined and stressed that I had a launch at midnight and the site had to be usable by them. He said it would be certainly done in that time and, when it was done, I would just need to re-install my SSL on it.

    So, I bought this service, and waited. I waited for 3 hours before going on Live Chat again, asking if the migration was done and if, perhaps, the email had simply not arrived. This customer service rep now said--"Sorry, it's still under way, and will take 4-8 hours." I began to get frustrated at this point, realizing that the first person had lied. I voiced these frustrations, and the rep simply kept saying, "There's nothing we can do, you have to wait, it'll be done within 4-8 hours for sure."

    I moved the launch to 8am the next morning, thinking this would give me plenty of time. I ended up going to bed at 1am (6 hours after the beginning of the migration) and it was not done. I set the alarm for 5am, thinking I would get up at that time and do the SSL. Still not done. Then, after a sleepless few hours, 7am. Still not done.

    I have been on Live Chat since then, and have received appalling service again. The first person said, "Well sorry but migrations take 24-72 hours" and said there's nothing I can do. I kept at it and she managed to give me a phone number for the migrations department. When I called, it said they're closed until 9am MT (which would be 11am my time). When I asked, I was told there is no one on call.

    I was offered nothing but a "sorry". I asked to speak to another person. She then told me that migrations take 12-24 hours. And the kicker is--she claimed that she "consulted with the technical experts and they said it would be done within then." Who did she call? The closed department?

    Needless to say I will be cancelling my account with them ASAP. If you are thinking about using bluehosts services, consider yourself warned. I highly suggest you stay as far away from them as you possibly can.

    Pros: Literally, none. They took my money and ran.
    Cons: They took my money and ran.

  • Steve

    "Run Away As Fast As You Can"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    Read the reviews for Bluehost over the last year and you will have a good picture as to my experience. The type of service I have received is almost unbelievable it's so bad. I can only assume they just do not care about the people who use their hosting service. Anyway here is my Bluehost story:

    I have been a customer of Bluehost with a number of web hosting accounts for ~10 years. in the early years, I had a positive experience, and at times, suggested Bluehost as a Web Hosting provider to those who consulted me about web hosting choices. About two years ago I started seeing issues with site performance and tech support.

    Now to preface, I have an very diverse and detailed background in IT and have worked in large call center environments to boot, so if I am calling for support you can bet your uncle I have done a fair amount of troubleshooting and probably have a good idea of where the issue is. I also understand the call center environment: Ticket tracking, support boundaries, escalation processes, and of course customer care.

    In this instance I am working on an ecom site and needed to import major SQL database changes to the production site one that is time sensitive and for which my clients are not going to be happy with delays. In order to apply these changes I need to access the SQL database tools from CPanel, but I received an error upon trying. The error was a cut and dry "Timeout connecting to server X". This looks like a firewall issue since it using a non-standard TCP port 2083 but I received this error at home which I do not have egress port filtering so I connected to my corporate network via VPN and get the same error. Hmm. Starting simple, I did attempted an ICMP ping to the FQN listed in the URL. Huh that fails. So I take a look at the path the traffic takes and it get into Bluehost's network and dies. (Acedc.net for all practical purposes is Bluehost https://who.is/whois/acedc.net)

    6 r-uwmadison-isp-xe-1-3-1-105.wiscnet.net (216.56.60.165) 26 msec 21 msec 26 msec
    7 r-222wwash-isp-ae2-3900.wiscnet.net (140.189.9.77) 16 msec 16 msec 16 msec
    8 r-minneapolis-511-isp-ae0-3944.wiscnet.net (140.189.9.62) 47 msec 37 msec 21 msec
    9 * * *
    10 be101.ar13.slkcutxd.integra.net (209.63.98.150) 52 msec 52 msec 52 msec
    11 208.186.235.164 63 msec 58 msec 63 msec
    12 69-27-173-78.acedc.net (69.27.173.78) 68 msec 63 msec 57 msec
    13 * * *

    Well this surely is not my fault but just to make sure it's not a IP block I attempt access from a number of full tunnel VPN site around the world and all of them fail within acedc.net.

    Now that I have my ducks in a row, I chat with some Bluehost's chat support. The first red flag was how I was ignored as to knowing where to start looking into this issue. I waste 20 minutes while the tech asks me for the specific error message and then proceeds to argue with me about their even being an issue since he could access my hosted website (not the CPanel tools hosted site). Once I convinced him there was an issue, I just brushed off and told to try back later. I had to force them to lie about contacting me and about adding notes to my account since no notes were ever added and no emails ever received.

    Harshitha

    It appears we have admins already investigating the issue

    8:57:10amHarshitha

    During their investigation, some services may become unavailable as they're temporarily paused, suspended or disabled for troubleshooting purposes

    8:57:13amHarshitha

    In most cases, administrators can address, diagnose, log and correct the problem within a short time of the initial investigation but it's difficult to say for sure since a full investigation has not yet been completed.

    8:57:18amHarshitha

    We don't have an official ETA on a fix at this time, but we are do have admins working right now in the problem. I sincerely apologize for the trouble.

    8:57:57am Steve

    No need to apologize.

    8:58:50amHarshitha

    Thank you, Ken

    8:59:01amHarshitha

    I just verified it

    9:02:34amHarshitha

    Is there anything else that I can help with for now?

    9:02:56am Steve

    Is there an ETA?

    9:03:22amHarshitha

    It will be fixed as soon as possible

    9:03:34amHarshitha

    Sorry, no ETA

    9:03:44am Steve

    OK and how will I be notified when the issue is resolved?

    9:04:08amHarshitha

    You can check back after a couple of hours

    9:05:22am Steve

    I would like to be notified when this issue is resolved which is standard for anyone doing support..

    9:06:24amHarshitha

    Okay, we will try to send you an email when the issue is resolved, no worries, please

    9:06:45am Steve

    And what email will you be sending that to?

    9:08:29amHarshitha

    To the email address on file

    9:09:55am Steve

    Thanks. I do have a time sensitive change to make so I will be waiting for your notification. What ticket # can I refer to regarding this issue if I need to call back ?

    9:12:19amHarshitha

    This is a known issue, so it will be fixed soon.

    9:12:58am Steve

    What is the ticket number for the known issue? Do you not track issues in a call tracking database?

    9:13:51amHarshitha

    We do, this s a general issues and I have added a note on your account, so a ticket is not required

    So I wait a day and find the issue is still at hand and try chat again. I cut and paste my last Chat script and it's ignored and I am asked for the error message I am receiving. I ask him to read me the notes from yesterday and would ya know it there were none. So I do the same dance and this time 30 minutes later (puts me on hold for 15 minutes while he verifies there is an issue and again I am told they know about the issue and are working on a speedy recovery. The chat support then attempts to close the chat. I again ask for a ticket number and he tells me he cannot create one but assures me he as placed all our correspondence in my account notes to which I in no way believe him. Wanting some way to track this issue and my work on getting it resolved, I ask for a ticket #, but I am ignored and have no choice but to end the session. While I did send the chat script to feedback@bluehost.com via the checkbox on the app (if that even works) I failed to copy that session's data.

    Waiting another day and finding the issue still not resolved, I opted to try phone support. Called into layer 1 and find there is no information on this issue in my account info. I am not surprised by this but I am getting agitated at having to explain all this for the third time in three days. Also wasted three days of work and probably three days where someone could have been actually troubleshooting this issue. Layer one finally transfers me to Layer two once it's verified there is indeed an issue. Layer 2 tells me they are working on it and will get back to me. I do get a ticket # at this point and let the support person go.

    About 12 hours later I get an email stating that this server is the victim of a DDOS attack and I just happen to be unlucky to be included int the IP range that's being blocked to protect the server. Bluehost states that most DDOS attacks are resolved in hours but could take up to three days resolve. I replied back with 6 different ISP Blocks from 3 different Counties detailing that the "DDOS block is quite massive" and with such a large attack this in indeed a serious matter. I then requested to get a copy of the incident report which would be required with an event of this magnitude. I have yet to get a response.

    I contact my clients with the bad new and this info and am told to wait until Monday and address tech support.

    Monday comes and I call in and give my Ticket info and get directed to Tech support which tells me they can do nothing about this. Dumbfounded by this I ask to be moved to a new server since for all practical purposes my site is down. I am told that he can make this request but I will be at the mercy of the whomever deems my request worthy. Asking how long this will take he states up to 48 hours. WTF!!! How hard can it be to point the CPanel tools to a different server? I asked my call to be escalated and after holding for 5 minutes I am connected to a escalation manager. I explain my situation and I am flatly told there is nothing she can do due to the DDOS attack. She then goes on to say that DDOS attacks can last up to a month and there is nothing she can do. I ask about moving to a different server and she refuses to do so since my site is not technically down.

    I take a different tack and ask if they can allow a single IP address into the server since it's evident this server is not receiving traffic from any IP addresses. I was told that was impossible which of course it isn't it's that I am not important as a customer. I am again told that there is nothing they can do and that I just have to wait for the DDOS attack to be resolved.

    I ask for her supervisor and she tells me she has none. None? Really there is no one you report to? No one who reviews your performance? She tells me "nope". I ask for her name and I get a first name only. She will not give any other information as to escalating this issue. I tell her I will be removing my services from Bluehost and she tells me to have a nice day.

    Setup new services with a local non-conglomerate hosting company within the hour. Good riddance Bluehost. What a joke.

    My takeaway is this:

    1. Bluehost does not give a rip about you as a customer
    2. They will lie to you and tell you whatever will get you off the phone/chat
    3. There tech support people know very little about technical issues or customer service

    Pros: Cheep
    Cons: Most everything else

  • Charles Reid

    "Unable To Access My Emails While In Europe"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    I switched to BlueHost less than 12 months ago to provide website hosting for my 2 email accounts. Easy to use in the U.S.; however, on a recent 3-week trip to several countries in Europe, it was almost impossible to access our emails. I did have one live chat with them, but they offered no solutions to my connection problems. I will be switching to another service provider soon.

  • M.

    "I Would Not Recommend Bluehost.com"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: bluehost.com

    Review:
    I would never recommend anyone to trust their business or website with bluehost. They have unethical people working there. Support? Geoduck with that because no one is supporting you unless you're their customer, and they will put you on hold and never answer if you're not paying them or already paid them. Bluehost is a very unethical company so do not sign up with them.

    Cons: The worst customer service and unethical practices

  • Chinedu Ngwu

    "Review Of Bluehost Webhosting Service"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: informania.net
    Platform: WordPress

    Review:
    Indeed, I will recommend bluehost to every webmaster. I have been using bluehost for a couple of months now, and as a matter of fact, it appears to be the best webhosting service I have seen so far. For once, I have never experienced any form of downtime or similar issues.

    Pros: Awesome performance and support
    Cons: None

  • Richard Schulman

    "No"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: hashimashi.com
    Platform: WordPress

    Review:
    They do not provide any help to get w3total cache plugin working.

    They say the error msgs are the plugin fault.

    The plugin says the server must make the adjustments.

    Im not happy.

    Pros: none
    Cons: not helpful to improve performance

  • Rachel

    "Stay Away! They Will Lie To Get You To Upgrade"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    I should have listened to all the bad reviews on the web about BlueHost but I decided to give them a chance. WORST IDEA EVER!

    First of all, you get what you pay for. Horrible hosting service - my website kept going down multiple times in a week, more on the weekends. Also, Tech Support had no idea what they were doing. I was even told that they hire people who have no experience whatsoever and that BlueHost just teaches them the basics. One time the TechSupport guy had to google my question. Other times, they will flat out say "I don't know" when asked a question.

    The best part is that they will lie in order to have you upgrade. I was told that if I upgraded and wasn't satisfied within a month, I could get a refund of the extra amount I paid to upgrade. When I called to cancel because I didn't notice a difference - I was told that I was given incorrect information. So their employee gave ME incorrect information and they won't help me. Horrible customer service, over 30 minute wait times to speak to someone, and incompetent employees. I wish I never had to deal with BlueHost. Save yourself the headache and go with another hosting service... ANYONE but BlueHost.

    Pros: cheap
    Cons: long wait time, TechSupport does not know what they are talking about, site goes down a lot

  • fabrizio gurrado

    "Just Stay Far From Bluehost, Especially If You Are In China Or Europe"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    They provide such a bad service! They work only in their day time that usually doesn't correspond with the worldwide one. So no way you can chat with them if you have problem. If you stay awake during your nighttime to chat with them you can wait hours in front of a windows that tell "estimated waiting time 1 minute"!!!! They block you services with silly excuses and the don't refund you for the wasted time. I decided to rescind from the contract and... It's also so difficult even to get a simple cancellation... You are required to call them by phone to a number that cannot be reached by normal national mobile number

    Pros: none
    Cons: everytrhing is such so bad

  • L.Verso

    "Blue Host Sucks"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: thegreatcat.org

    Review:
    For the past 6 months I have had to constantly contact Blue Host. I did this through the chat which is located in India. No one could help me because they themselves admitted that it was the server in Utah that was the problem. No solution was offered for my slow site and the fact that webpage images could not be shared on any social media platform because of the slow speed. Needless to say, this negatively affected my traffic. Blue Host instead wanted me to upgrade and spend more money. I had to laugh....no way! I was left with the message that the server will be fixed SOON. Ha...what a joke.

    Pros: Can't think of anything at this point.
    Cons: Everything

  • Jeff S.

    "Probably Should Have Dropped Them A Long Time Ago -- I Guess I Should Do That Soon"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    After having bad luck with a number of other hosting providers, I moved to Bluehost about 6 years ago to host my company's website and for corporate e-Mail. They seemed okay to start, but they seemed to always have excuses for not providing even the most basic level of care.

    First off, my site was hacked. Instead of them trying to fix the problem, they decided to first blame me and almost terminated my account. After talking to a number of their employees, they eventually convinced me (incorrectly mind you) to get a fixed IP and VPS account to avoid this in the future. Foolishly I bought this b.s. and still have this band-aid on my system today.

    If that weren't bad enough, their Terms and Conditions prevents individuals from storing files on their site unless they are absolutely necessary. In fact, if you are caught holding what they consider to be a large number of files (completely arbitrary), they will send you nastygrams and freeze your account. Apparently some of my coworkers decided to use Bluehost to archive some files. Bluehost didn't like it at all and sent me a number of messages that immediately went into my spam folder yet curiously, all the other spam I received got white listed. Eventually my corporate account was frozen and my coworkers started to panic. I did some digging on my side and everything seemed okay. At that point, I decided call bluehost technical support where their incredibly rude support person told me that I was in violation of their TOC. I asked them to help me with removing the files where they told me that wasn't my problem and then pushed me to their compliance department who was even angrier. I explained my situation to them and finally found someone who "out of the goodness of their heart" helped me with getting rid of the offending files since I couldn't get into my account.

    Yet another time, I discovered that someone hacked their servers and injected a series of files into my account. Supposedly the VPS/fixed IP was supposed to mitigate this problem (clearly it didn't) and their porous security they provide didn't protect me. Because of this, I had to go through another set of fights with tech support and compliance to get them to remove the offending files, even though they sent me a message telling me which files were corrupted. Since I was locked out yet again, I found another person to help delete the files for me since I couldn't do it myself.

    The straw that broke the camels back is that my team contacted me today to see why they have not been receiving some messages. I said that I would go into our control panel to see if we have an issue regarding quota. I did not receive any messages saying that we are over our limit or anything at this point, so I need to go into cPanel to change my password. I called up their support which they said to do on their website but then I had to deal with a support rep who told me that the only way he could change my password is to send an email to my account which won't work because I don't have access to that account currently. At that point he said the only way he could help me is to send me an email (which I said was not a viable answer) or to call them during business hours and maybe they can find someone in billing to change my password. That's insane -- that is basically telling customers that if they are locked out of their system they are at the mercy of their miserable bankers hours and MAYBE they will be able to reset it for me if I am lucky.

    I can go on and on here -- I guess the key takeaway is if you have a very simple website and you are willing to accept their absurd restrictions about storage and their unwillingness to do anything besides basic support, then use them. Just be forewarned that you will be confronted by support reps that clearly hate their jobs because they refuse to help unless forced to do so and tormented by their TOC Nazis if you don't follow their poorly written user agreement.

    I can't wait to get off their site -- they are too hard to deal with.

    Pros: relatively cheap price, cPanel is nice for basic admin tasks
    Cons: useless tech support, hypersensitive to TOC violations, etc.

  • JG

    "Really Terrible Service!"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: www.adventureclubslo.com

    Review:
    Biggest complaint is that customer service is no where to be found. Long wait times that extend into longer wait times. Also often hanging up on me after waiting over 20 min. No response to chat to help tickets. No reply to an email I sent to a manager. Makes it pretty worthless to me. I tried to cancel within the thirty day money back guarantee window and they made wait on hold for over 40 mins then told me I needed to fill out forms and call another number. Ssems they wish to make as difficult as possible for us to quit.
    Now they can deal with Amex dispute dept. I'm so sick of wasting hours of my life with this shoddy company. Never again!

    Pros: Nothing... Cute name maybe
    Cons: Horrendous "customer service" and they make it very difficult to quit

  • Andy

    "Lots Of Downtime And Terrible Customer Service"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    I am moving sites away from Bluehost as fast as I can. Two reasons: Bad Hosting and Bad Customer Service.

    Bad Hosting: My sites are monitored by UptimeRobot.com and SiteUptime.com. They send me an email when my sites go down. They go down for periods of 20+ minutes a time several times a day. Bluehost will do nothing about it.

    Customer Service: Half an hour wait on phone until they hung up. One hour wait on chat. No response. Sent an email to support@bluehost.com. No response for TWO WEEKS! Opened a trouble ticket- no response until I opened another a week later. No response to second ticket whatsoever. No response to postal mail sent to VP of Customer Service, Ben Lewis. Get the picture?

    Pros: Price
    Cons: Everything else

  • carlos

    "My Website Is Always Down Because Of Their Server"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    Bluehost is such a terrible company to do business with. My website is being going down for a week now, a couple of hours daily. You try to contact their support and you get in line that says "wait time: 30 minutes". But instead you stay in line over 1 hour and minutes counter will not move. I am hiring another website host company.

    Pros: cheap
    Cons: worst service

  • Susan

    "Really??? How Many Problems Do You Want?"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: bcivic.org
    Platform: Eventon 2.2.20

    Review:
    Bluehost may be cheap, but you get what you pay for. Estimated hold time every time we have an email or hosting issue is 25 minutes - and then it's actually much longer. Have an email problem? They only keep email logs for a short time, so if you have a problem with an email and contact them RIGHT AWAY, then they can't find it because too much time has gone by. Really???

    Really nice people working for a company who completely doesn't get service.

    Pros: Nothing
    Cons: Bad technical service; constant problems

  • Kendra Shuman

    "Poor Customer Service"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    My daughter had a college class that required her to set up the domain. After a few weeks she realized it wasn't necessary so we cancelled the domain name. We rec'd a credit on my credit card for the remaining time left on the yearly fee. A year later we were charged again - they said we never turned off the auto renewal feature for the domain name. However, if you cancel - why would it be assumed you want any part of the domain on auto renewal. Sure enough, embedded in my daughter's profile was a box saying you had to turn off auto renewal - otherwise you would be charged. After talking to Bluehost's customer service - and seeing that they were unwilling to give us credit - I disputed this charge with my credit card company. Bluehost can disclose all day long that they were acting within their 'rights'; however, it's very poor business practices to basically be defrauding a 20 year old who just didn't realize that cancelling one part of the domain REALLY didn't mean that it was totally cancelled. In addition to always having long wait times on hold - the basic integrity of the customer service department is something that I question.

    Pros: not sure there are any
    Cons: Poor customer service - automatic renewal AFTER cancelling? WHAT?

  • Darren Starr

    "Total Crap Now"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: darrenstarr.tv
    Platform: Powered By Slider Revolution 5.1.6 - Responsive, M

    Review:
    Bluehost used to be fine when I first got it around 2 years ago. My sites ran fast and rarely had any downtime.
    Support would usually be instant on live chat and maybe a 2-3 minute wait on occaisions.

    Now.

    Jetpack frequently emails me showing downtimes which happen often, I check the site and can't access it. I have deleted and fresh installed the website multiple times with multipe approved themes and plugins, it still happens. The sites are very slow to load now also 5-20 seconds or more. They suggest upgrading my package and blatently deny any downtime at all.
    The waiting for live chat is set at 30 mins, but you may see that 30 mins sign for 1 hour as I often have before it starts reducing. The support team are now based in India. They lie sometimes. They say they have fixed something and it'll take a short while to be corrected and a short while later they haven't done it, it was just to get me out of the queue, so then I have to queue again.
    It's really horrendous.

    It's exactly what Hostgator did when they sold out. Their service and customer service dropped and myself and hundreds of peers dropped them.
    When my hosting expires, I'll be dropping bluehost too.

    Pros: Easy to get started
    Cons: Terrible service, terrible performance. Would not recommend to anyone I care about.

  • David Lavender

    "(what) Customer Service (?)"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: davidlavenderarchitect.com
    Platform: Wordpress 4.4.2

    Review:
    Chat time to wait? Normally 30 minutes.
    Phone support? 8 minutes on a clock that runs down and then resets to 8 minutes. Effective wait time? 30 minutes. And then disconnected.
    Rating: 0, because it is impossible to connect with anyone to state the problem.

    Pros: Multiple email platforms
    Cons: Customer services is a myth.

  • Katherine Walde

    "A Slow And Steady Slide Downward"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    Although I have had nothing but excellent customer support with Bluehost, their technicians can only do so much within the parameters set by their employer. I used Bluehost for about 7 years and was relatively happy with them. I even recommended them to friends. However, their downtimes are ridiculous as of late and their Wordpress support is laughable, For over 18 hours all my Wordpress sites were down due to a 'server error' on their part with they acknowledged was an error on their part. This was the last straw. I have a plugin that tells me when my sites go down and over the months it has become ridiculous. 5 minutes here, 10 minutes there, day after day. If you are a casual blogger Bluehost would work for you - but for professionals who need a downtime rate of less than 3 percent, Bluehost isn't for you. You get what you pay for.

    Pros: Great technical support frontline workers
    Cons: Horrible downtime rates

  • MandJ

    "Annoying Non Cpanel Domain Gui"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: mandjwindowrepair.com
    Platform: Wordpress 4.3.1

    Review:
    They make adding a domain name to the web hosting a much more annoying process then it should be. If you are buying aftermarket domains from GoDaddy or elsewhere and someone else had an account previously on GoDaddy and you don't have an EPP code yet since you just bought the domain, you won't be able to add the domain name to your account because of the overly complicated security check process.

    The last account said marked for deletion in the control panel, if they would just get rid of this mess and let you add domains like any other company in the cPanel, they have a custom cPanel security check script for the domain names. Trying to even find the cPanel itself can be difficult oh and they also block any catch-all email addresses too.

    Even if you call in they say "can't do anything for you, sorry."

    Pros: Price I guess, but still cheaper options out there.
    Cons: domain forwarders overly complicated, no catch-all email

  • Ron Kaplan

    "Don't Trust Bluehost's Motto Of "we Are Always Standing By And Eager To Help""

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: sicons.com

    Review:
    I set out to do a simple renewal of my 3 year hosting contract and ended up wasting hours fixing the problems caused by Bluehost lack of attention to the details of the renewal/upgrade. I lost my email for 24 hours due to incorrect configuration guidance. Even though I paid for a 3 year renewal I received an errant expiration notice and waited an hour on hold to get someone to address the mistake. I found that Bluehost is neither standing by nor eager to help. Don't be lured by their aggressive pricing. What should have been a few minutes to renew my account turned into an ordeal of five hours of wasted time, and I am very technically savvy

    Pros: cheap
    Cons: long wait times, incompetent employees, does not take responsibility for consequences of mistakes

  • Guy

    "Terrible Customer Support, Don't Waste Your Time."

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting

    Review:
    Email Correspondence after weeks of stuffing around. #poohost

    Maxwell, this has been such a ridiculous waste of my time

    1. I asked if you guys would honour your previous quote of $99, and was told YES. A supervisor looked at my request and said YES. (I have saved transcripts of these conversations)

    2. I was told to check my Cart, where the product had been added for $99. I was told I could checkout with this product, which I tried but it came up with a cache error.

    3. I was told to contact billing operations to sort out this issue, which I did, but on several occasions I messaged billing ops when they were not online (more time wasting) because apparently my request could not be dealt with without me being present!

    4. After several failed attempts i got onto Billing Ops, who rudely stated they couldn't help me. Am i being unreasonable asking for something that i was told was available to me? You tell me

    5. I contacted billing ops one more time and was given two email address to contact you guys. One of the emails bounced, the second was no longer active! siteoptimization@bluehost.com professionalservices@bluehost.com

    6. Finally you've contacted me and told me again that i was using the wrong email that YOU guys gave me!

    7. You're trying to offload me to someone else!! After all the stuffing around I've been through

    I've been a Bluehost customer for a long time and recommend you guys constantly, but this experience has totally destroyed my confidence in you guys.

    If you had told me from the beginning that the original price could not be honoured, I would have been on my way, instead I had to stuff around for a couple of weeks chasing down something that wasn't even possible. Not to mention being treated with utter contempt.

    Thankfully you guys send all your transcripts out, so i have a record of everything. I'd hate for anyone else to have to waste their time as I have, so I'll do what I can to make sure no one else has to deal with this bs.

    Pros: Too annoyed to think of anything positive right now
    Cons: Every level of their customer support. They don't give a sh*t.

  • Amanda

    "Wouldn't Recommend"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: amandayountphotography.com
    Platform: Wordpress 4.3.1

    Review:
    I'm so incredibly disappointed in your customer service. I've wasted THREE hours of my day and your company was still NOT able to assist me!!! You've taken money from my family, yet you can't give me any information. I've sent you TWICE my info to verify my identity, you validated you received and then tell me I have to wait ANOTHER FOUR hours for you to EMAIL me. It's unacceptable. Your "small business tip" on Facebook 2 days ago is to "welcome feedback from your customers. Listen and adapt", yet you have all comments and ratings disabled on Facebook AND Google+. Aren't you talking out of both ends of your mouth? Just when I was about to have you host 2 more domains for me. I'm so disappointed in you, Bluehost!!!

    Pros: None
    Cons: HORRIBLE Customer Service

  • Warren Papas

    "Bluehost Review"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: cherishphotography.net.au
    Platform: Wordpress 4.3.1

    Review:
    Excellent support and uptime, but my hosting speed is a bit slow.

    Pros: Support and 100% uptime
    Cons: Slow speed

  • Tim Ryerson

    "Bluehost Is Unethical And Arrogant!"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: Website Hosting
    Website: studentathleteworld.com

    Review:
    Bluehost is unethical and arrogant! Sold me a cloud based host that shouldn't have been on the market with known errors with databases. Support team is arrogant. Not just on one call, but over the course of 20-30 calls. A few good people work there, but way too often got people who treated me like crap. Numerous times they lied and did things my developers said were the most unusual and unethical they have seen. Stay FAR away from HostMonster/Bluehost!

    Pros: None
    Cons: Unethical, Arrogant

  • Rogerio Carvalho

    "Very Good Service"

    Review submitted by on

    Service: VPS Hosting
    Website: centraldalapa.com
    Platform: Wordpress 4.3.1

    Review:
    The overall site performance is excellent. The support via chat is very fast. In short, support and excellent performance.

    Pros: performance, support
    Cons: Found problems with long running scripts, which are interrupted after 40 seconds of execution

Disclosure: We receive a compensation from some of the companies whose products are presented on our website.