• Google+
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • RSS Feed

Search Website

iPage Reviews and Ratings

Submit Your iPage Review

Your Name: * Email Address: * Website:
Hosting Type:
Review: *
Support: Pros: *
Features: Cons: *
Performance & Reliability: Recommend?
Overall:

There are 22 user reviews of iPage

1 
1
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Latest iPage review posted by Rd on 2014-06-25
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: Support people professional, thorough
CONS: Horribly slow, image will not admit this

SUMMARY: I’ve been with Ipage for the past two years and this past year the load times have been dreadfully slow. The past month I can’t load my page, 504 errors everywhere, and Ipage takes no responsibility whatsoever. I’ve done everything in my power to optimize the site to make it fast enough but they still claim it’s me not them. Avoid them.

4
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Yasser L. on 2014-06-04
Website: http://iaesaudi.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: Cheap
CONS: Slow, Bad Customer Support

SUMMARY: Very Very Slow Web Hosting.
And Worst Customer Support Ever.

1
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Philip B. on 2014-05-13
Website: http://www.chargemedia.co.uk
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: None
CONS: Thieves!

SUMMARY: iPage hosting is the worst host I have ever used!

They took the renewal fee without authorisation after I cancelled it, then closed my account completely so I can’t even access customer support! I’ve literally been robbed!

1
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Zombie on 2014-03-31
Website: http://www.zombiehideout.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: none…
CONS: too many to list. 30kbs transfer speeds

SUMMARY: Never use Ipage! all these positive reviews are complete BS. They were posted by Ipage employees or complete noobs.

Their transfer speed are as low as 30-40kbs. Am I confused here…are we all still using dial up..do I hear AOL??

Don’t wast your time and money. Their support is incompetent and they will lie to you.

Try Godaddy instead, they have lower monthly rates and transfers speeds over 2.5mbs.

2
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Heather C. on 2013-02-08
Website: http://heatherleacampbell.me
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: relatively easy to use, cheap
CONS: Billing department is a scam, customer support is not helpful, everything costs extra, bills me for things I didn’t ask for

SUMMARY: Listen, guys, and listen close: NEVER USE IPAGE.COM TO HOST A SITE.

I cannot even begin to describe the drama I’ve been through with them. They seemed like the perfect site for my last church–they are super cheap and very easy to customize, even for a newbie at web design like me.

But the business side of it is STILL killing me, and I turned over the site in May of last year. For some reason they still had my contact info, so one of the members of that church and I sat down last August and WATCHED my credit card info, email, and phone number all change to his. So tell me why I’m still getting emails and even bills? Not only was the new credit card getting charged, but mine was too–and for charges that we didn’t ask for. The church voted, because of all the drama, to just close the site down, and I (as well as the person it was registered to) got the confirmation email. 6 months later, I am still getting emails. URG!!! DON’T DO IT! DON’T DRINK THE KOOL-AID!!!

Just do WordPress. the end.

1
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Kate on 2012-11-14
Website: genus-industri.us
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: cheap
CONS: cheap and crappy servers

SUMMARY: I signed up for hosting with iPage because they had a pretty decent deal for .us domains at the time. I figured, two birds, one stone. I have not been happy since. My site is abysmally slow to load. I haven’t seen loadspeeds like this since the 56k was the bleeding edge of the internet.

Don’t waste your time with hosting on iPage, unless you’re a junkie for nostalgia and want to pretend this is 1996.

1
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Andy on 2012-10-12
Website: http://www.buxtonphotography.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: used to have good tech support
CONS: no longer has good tech support, charge for services they haven’t provided

SUMMARY: iPage customer Support went rapidly downhill a couple of years back causing me to switch hosting elsewhere last year. iPage made themselves look even worse by completely screwing up the domain transfer and causing me to lose the registration of it. Now I find they’ve even been charging me for hosting for the past year that they weren’t providing and they refuse to refund it since they conveniently don’t have a record of my cancellation instructions.
Avoid these people like the plague, they’re only interested in money, they may not be a scam but they don’t give a damn about their customers.

4
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Awais R. on 2012-09-24
Website: http://webdesignerchoice.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: Its Cheaper,lot of coupons
CONS: Its very slow

SUMMARY: I recently transferred my blog from blogger to ipage hosting on wordpress platform. I transferred back to blogspot just because they are really very slow. I would recommend don’t use ipage hosting.

1
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Faospark on 2012-08-22
Website: http://pkmcodedepo.net
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: easy domain management
CONS: want a very slow non compressed site? i-page is the best host for that

SUMMARY: I’ve been hired to work on a website and I did not know what i-page was and its interface. So far I like some the features of the host but unfortunately I dont like the speed of this. Im pretty good website optimizer 10/10 of my previous works are 90+ ratings in pagespeed and A or B in Yslow. but working and developing and hosting your website on ipage is not the best idea. first time I’ve made a website that is below 85 in pagespeed score and no matter how many tricks i have in my knowledge to optimize the website it just wont work cause there are a lot deficiencies server side. there is about 10-30 seconds delay in loading time on any website that is hosted on I-page and more often that not, non regular visitors would usually encounter a page time out depending on their internet connection.

3
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Colleen R. on 2012-08-13
Website: http:///SimplySnailMail.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: CHEAP!
CONS: SCAMMERS!

SUMMARY: After not being able to build a site I waited for the subscription to expire. I recieved emails asking if I wanted to renew and did not respond because I did not want to renew. They billed me for renewal and something else totaling $192.00. When I called to have the charges removed they told me I checked off the box for automatic renewl so the only refunded $50 of the $192.00. SCAMMERS!

3
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Andrei on 2012-06-27
Website: http://www.dragonflame.org
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: cheap, fast to setup
CONS: poor tech support, very unreliable servers, subpar features

SUMMARY: There’s little good to be said about iPage.
Their servers constantly go down, their tech support is incompetent and slow to answer (and it’s a rare thing to actually answer your question, as if they wouldn’t be English-speaking people).
Their offer has steadily fallen behind most hosts and the only thing that makes them worth considering is the load of free site promotion coupons you receive (yahoo, facebook and google credits).
However, I couldn’t get past the thing that they kept my site down for over 12 hours recently with no explanation given whatsoever. On top of that their shared hosting kept going down for between 2 to 4 hours every other day (literally).
I wouldn’t recommend them to anyone that looks for stability and competence.

4
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Saul on 2012-06-23
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: great value and features
CONS: too slow for sql powered websites, and not realiable

SUMMARY: You get what you pay for, im running joomla powered website and they are very slow to responds, so i wudnt advise anybody running joomla powered websites. For basic html driven website recommended. Good support but its difficult to make them understand your issues. Server goes down periodically number of times in a months.

8
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Tomm on 2012-06-08
Website: http://www.nehruplacemarket.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: Really nice, good customer service
CONS: did not find any as such

SUMMARY: I have hosted my few sites on ipage, it is really nice as comapred to other cheap hosting service providers. But yes if you comapre it with the high cost hosting or dedicated hosting, it will be little slower. but it is really nice for personal or small business websites.

4
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Haven on 2012-06-03
Website: http://www.popsoda.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: Cheap
CONS: Slow load time

SUMMARY: I signed with iPage because they are cheap. I learned my lesson! You get what you pay for. I am hosting a wordpress blog and the load times are slow. It takes between 10 to 12 seconds to load each time you click on anything. Who is gonna sit around waiting that long just to navigate through a site? I even purchased site accelerator and that got me down to about 8 second load times, which is still slow. I found out that Blue Host is three times as fast so I’m switching next Friday. Lame sauce and every time I contact support they say there is no problem or say it is solved which is complete bs. Don’t choose ipage. They suck

1
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Je R. on 2012-05-08
Website: http://GREETINGSFROMEARTH.NET
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: SCAM!!!!!
CONS: DON’T BUY FROM THIS COMPANY

SUMMARY: DO NOT ORDER THIS SERVICE, I HAD TO THREATEN THEM TO GET MY FULL REFUND BACK

3
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Deborah N. on 2012-02-29
Website: http://ultramx.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: IPage site is fast… I’d be very happy to have the same loading speed.
CONS: Faster at 4am. The rest of the time… SLOW, Slow, slow! Customer Service leads one to believe it is user error.

SUMMARY: Going down hill quickly… in direct relation to lowering their price again. It has become obvious that the management is more interested in the number of customers they can sign up than either service or quality. It’s too bad because they started out well. The sad thing is that eventually it will catch up with them in our information society, but it appears they do not care about the big picture in comparison to immediate profit. I’ll be the first to congradulate them if they pull it together. The thought of moving servers is not at the top of my list.

3
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Waldo W. on 2012-02-28
Website: http://www.miserylovescompany.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: Cheap price.
CONS: Flakey email server. Ignorant tech support staff. False advertising.

SUMMARY: I recently started up with iPage. So far, I’ve only used email through my hosting plan. I really regret choosing this company now and don’t look forward to the hassles of moving to another hosting service.

I use POP3 email – not iMAP. POP3 is a simple protocol that’s been around for decades. I have set up 4 email accounts (mailboxes) under my domain. One has a volume of up to 200 emails a day.. well, that’s really not much. A few days ago I noticed I was not receiving email. After some snooping around, I found that iPage was bouncing all the mail sent to me, back to sender. Nice!!! That ended up disabling a some automated senders through my business.

As it turns out, iPage allows a maximum of 3000 emails in your inbox on the mailserver. I suppose that’s not unreasonable… although they don’t appear to mention that anywhere obvious. The mystery is why those emails are sitting there. I use POP3 from my computer. The “delete from server” when retrieving mail option is always selected (standard option that most POP3 users activate). But, the iPage webserver was not responding to this command.

Tech support service informed me that POP3 email doesn’t have the capability of deleting email from server when retrieving mail from an email client. I told him it’s not true. He explained to me he’s been in tech support for 5 years and knows as a fact that you can’t do it. I corrected him by having him google POP3 delete from server. After eating his humble pie, he informed me that I should be using iMAP protocol as that was really the proper way to do email. I told him I wanted to use POP3 and reminded him that they advertised providing POP3. He said that my only option was to use iMAP or have to regularly, manually delete emails, 20 at a time, through their webmail server.

For some reason the “Delete from Server” command is disabled at the iPage mailserver. I have a couple hunches why… perhaps they’ve had people accidentally deleting emails.. and blaming iPage? Perhaps the mailserver and webmail software they use has compatibility issues? Maybe they just use a cheapo mailserver… in order to stay competitive. Who knows. In any case, selling partially functional POP3 email service is no different than selling cars without brakes.

The other problem with their email is that they instruct you, in their documentation, to use pop.yourdomain.com & smtp.yourdomain.com for email retrieval/sending. Neither work. Customer service said that it only seems to work properly if pop.ipage.com and smtp.ipage.com are used. So why instruct customers to use “yourdomain”… uummmm.

How messed up is this for a hosting company that says it has over a million customers. They can’t handle simple old basic POP3 email. What a joke. As a new customer, I’m worried about what other undocumented “nuances” I will have to deal with and create “workarounds” for when I move my webpages over to this host.

9
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Kristiyan on 2012-01-13
Website: http://hosting2012.net/
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: Good reliability
CONS: Regular montly prices are high

SUMMARY: I’m using iPage from about 8 months and have no problems with downtime, but sometimes my website is loading slow, I’m not from United States where the servers of iPage are located and there maybe the problem. The only thing that I hate about iPage is that the first year is at half price, but when You renew for the second year, the price is about 8-9$ which is not what they are advertising on their homepage. Yes they have text that says, that from the second year the prices will raise, but thats hard to see.

2
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Butch on 2011-10-17
Website: wildwood-manufacturing.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: Not many – price
CONS: Unacceptable personal information protection. Very poor internal programs.

SUMMARY: I picked up their hosting service recently. To primary complaints:
first: They did not protect my personal information. They claim they do not sell that information but have to provide it to the public. This is an incorrect statement and even a lie. Any company worth their salt will make certain that your personal information is not made access to the general public. I even believe they may be lying and selling the information because they will protect your personal information if you pay them more money. I have been getting telemarketer calls all day long, and this is from companies without names – of course. Who else would a company that doesn’t protect personal information give it too.
The other complaint: I tried to use both of their web generator programs. It took me all day to make a simple 4 page web. They keep locking up and stop working. Even the design preview fails to work, and it would seem that preview would be the simpler program to run. I gave up and went back to Expression Web, but I wanted to make a quick web to run until I could do something better.
Sure disgusting. They did tell me if I pay more money I could get better service. Now I wish I went with a site that costs a little more.

7
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Star on 2010-12-28
Website: http://www.animeshjha.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: -
CONS: -

SUMMARY: Good at technical support but if your planning to start a wordpress blog its not upto the mark. The first year it may be worth 3.50/month but the second year onwards it becomes 8.95 / month, which is not worth performance there server’s give.

Also if anyone is interested to know the FTP speeds: Up : 200-500kb/sec, Down: 500-750 kb/sec, this is tested via 100 MB line which gives around 12.3 mb/sec downloading bandwidth. Which also means that the ftp performance is slower.

10
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Tingting R. on 2010-09-04
Website: http://rimart.us/
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: -
CONS: -

SUMMARY: I have been blogging for more than six years, but five years of it was spent using WordPress free blogging platform. On the fifth year, I decided to take it a step higher. I opted to have my own blog hosted by HostGator. That time, they had a promo and so I grabbed it. My choice of web hosting company did not pan out as expected. To cut the story short, HostGator was not able to help me achieve with my goal.

A year after that, I learned about iPage through my husband. I subscribed with them, and on the same day, my blog was published using the same WordPress platform. I was ecstatic and contented. Most importantly, iPage customer services is superb! They help me a lot with my questions.

It has been seven months, and I am still satisfied with iPage services. Thanks, iPage!

9
  • Support
  • Features
  • Performance

Posted by Tom S. on 2010-08-31
Website: http://www.sitedavis.com
Service: Website Hosting

PROS: -
CONS: -

SUMMARY: Thanks to ipage I was able to transfer my Geocities site for affordable price with professional hosting results. Allowed me to expand an extensive site to confess the Lord Jesus as savior and family history. FTP and java apps worked well and allows enough disk space to be of value.

The the Speed of Your Website

Is Your Website Slow?

Our free Web Site Speed Test tool will provide you with a wealth of diagnostic information that will help you to determine what portions of the code on a web page are causing problems with load times.

Take The Test Now

Who hosts my website

Website Host Lookup

Find out which web hosting company is hosting any website.

Lookup Website

IP Address to Location Tool

IP-to-Location

Use this tool to find the geographic location of any given IP address on the Internet.

Lookup IP Address

About WebHostingHero.com

Order Before 08/01 & Get 30% OFF All Hosting Plans From